About the Armenian Community and Church Council of Great Britain

The Council represents and acts on behalf of the community, to enhance the moral, educational, intellectual, and social development of the community. To promote the language, history and culture of the Armenian people, to support organisations, charities and institutions working for the interest of Armenians, and to promote relations with Armenia and its Communities in Diaspora.

The Council is elected to office by those members of the British Armenian community who have registered as members of the community and have paid their annual Community Contribution.  The term of office of the Council is a maximum of four years, and any registered member of the community who satisfies the requirements of U.K. residency as per the constitution of the community, may tender his/her candidacy for election. Any person wishing to register may apply online or request a registration form by emailing to info@accuk.org.uk .  Registration is FREE and payment of the Community Contribution is voluntary.

The postal address of the council is ACCUK, P.O.Box 46207, London, W5 1XX

Email : info@accuk.org.uk


The Council Members elected to office in January 2013 are the following:

Mr Ara H. Palamoudian – Chairman APalamoudian@accuk.org.uk
Mr Zorig Gasparian – Vice Chairman ZGasparian@accuk.org.uk
Ms Maral Jakeman – Joint Secretary MJakeman@accuk.org.uk 
Mr Viken Haladjian – Joint Secretary VHaladjian@accuk.org.uk
Mrs Anahid Banian ABanian@accuk.org.uk
Mrs Rita Cherchian RCherchian@accuk.org.uk 
Mr Zareh Jerejian ZJerejian@accuk.org.uk 
Dr Setrag Karanfilian SKaranfilian@accuk.org.uk 
Mr Rustam Krikorian RKrikorian@accuk.org.uk
Mr Saro Mardoian SMardoian@accuk.org.uk 
Mrs Matilda Megerdichian MMegerdichian@accuk.org.uk 
Mr Manouk Mikailian MMikailian@accuk.org.uk
Mrs Iskouhi Sahakian ISahakian@accuk.org.uk 
Mr Raffi Sarkissian RSarkissian@accuk.org.uk 
Mr Stepan Tatulian – Financial Controller STatulian@accuk.org.uk


Within the Structure of the Council’s organisation are also the following two Registered Charity Trusts and the Committee for the Recognition of the Armenian Genocide, known as CRAG.

The London Armenian Community Trust

The Trustees are automatically the members of the Council, listed above. Officers of the Trust are:

  • Mr Ara H. Palamoudian – Chairman
  • Miss Maral Jakeman – Secretary


The Kevork Tahtayan Armenian Sunday School Trust

The Trustees, which are appointed by the Council, are the following:

  • Dr Karnik Tarverdi – Chairman
  • Mr Bedros Aslanian – Secretary
  • Mr Stepan Tatulian – Treasurer
  • Mrs Anahid Banian
  • Mr Saco Yeghikian
  • Mr Zorik Gasparian
  • Mr Viken Haladjian
  • Miss Maral Jakeman
  • Mrs Rousanne Tatulian : School Head Teacher and ex-officio Trustee.

Website: www.armenianschool.org.uk

Committee of “Campaign for Recognition of the Armenian Genocide” (CRAG)

  • Mr Raffi Sarkissian – Chairman
  • Mr Shiraz Vartanian – Treasurer
  • Dr H. Avakian
  • Mr Ara H. Palamoudian
  • Ms Teni Shahiean
  • Mr Viken Haladjian
  • Mr Manouk Mikailian

Website: www.crag.org.uk

Publications Committee – HAMAINK Newsletter – e-Committee – Website

  • Mr Zorik Gasparian – Chairman
  • Mr Stepan Tatulian
  • Miss Maral Jakeman
  • Mr Narbeh Minassian
  • Dr Garen Arevian –  Website Advisor/Administrator –  e-Committee
  • Mr Rouben Arakelian – e-Committee


Structure Of Organisation

The Council appoints it’s Executive Committees which is directly answerable to the Council and which is responsible for the day to day management of the social, educational, cultural and religious activities of the Community which come under the jurisdiction of the Council.


The Executive in its turn appoints a number of Sub-Committees which would be responsible for the various aspects of Community life and activity for which they have been appointed. These Sub-Committees include:

  1. The Ladies Committee 
  2. The Community Registration and Contributions Committee
  3. The Armenian Heritage and Culture Committee

The Executive Committee

  • Mrs Matilda Megerdichian – Chairperson
  • Mr Zareh Jerejian – Vice Chairman
  • Ms Zepur Kiledjian – Secretary
  • Miss Liza Keoshgerian
  • Dr Gagig Tamanian
  • Mr Viken Haladjian
  • Dr Setrag Karanfilian – Council’s Treasurer
  • Mrs Arshalous Babayan
  • Mr Zorik Gasparian
  • Mr Manouk Mikailian

The Ladies Committee

  • Mrs Zovig Haladjian – Chairperson
  • Mrs Stella Tarverdi – Secretary
  • Mrs Manoushak Tigranian – Treasurer
  • Ms Mariet Nazloomian – Accountant
  • Mrs Vera Harland
  • Mrs Mimik Keheyian
  • Mrs Peruz Vartanian
  • Mrs Heghineh Bedrossian
  • Mrs Tania Mikaelian
  • Mrs Noushik Bohdjalian
  • Mrs Eliz Jerejian
  • Mrs Liana Arakelian

Registrations & Community Contributions Committee

  • Mr Manouk Mikailian – Manager
  • Dr Setrag Karanfilian – Treasurer

Armenian Heritage and Culture Committee

  • Mrs. Matilda Megerdichian – Chair
  • Mr. Raffi Sarkissian – Vice-Chair
  • Miss Liza Keoshgerian – Secretary
  • Mrs. Ruzanna Tatulyan
  • Mrs. Anahid Banian
  • Dr Gagik Tamanian
  • Ms. Tatev Pogosyan